Back on Track (Mawaru PenguinDrum 5)

Well, I’m thoroughly impressed. Basically all of my gripes from last week have been fixed though Himari could use a little more screen time. This crazy train ride is safely back on its tracks.

All hail the Penguin Queen and her awesomeness!

I knew there was a reason why I liked Himari and Mistress Penguin so much. She’s the only one who’s called Ringo out on her extremely annoying behavior. Too bad she got slugged for it.

She so could have dodged that.

You’d figure Mistress Penguin would have some type of defense mechanism or something to prevent stuff like this. The moment before she got hit in the face you could tell she was surprised, it’s like she figured no one would revolt. Then again she has a good reason not to think she’s in any danger, she’s holding Himari’s life hostage after all. Perhaps she’s weak because her vessel is weak.  If that’s the case why didn’t she pick a better host (beggars can’t be choosers I suppose, plus wouldn’t it be funny watching a big burly man talk of survival strategy with a penguin hat on)? After all there’s nothing stopping the brothers from doing the same to her. Well, except the fact that she’s keeping their little sister alive. Could the only thing that Mistress Penguin has going for her is her words? Is she seeking the penguin drum to become stronger in some way and once she does acquire the penguin drum who’s to say she won’t abandon Himari? Who is this mad hatter?!

pedal rabbit, pedal!

Kanba and Ringo have a few similarities. They’re both extremists. Its just that Kanba has more of a plausible reason than Ringo, his sister’s life is on the line. I admire his bravery and perseverance, while at the same time I roll my eyes at Ringo’s antics. I guess, my admiration for Kanba and dislike for Ringo stems from what they’re trying to accomplish. I have a feeling if it ever came down to it, he’d do anything for Himari: kill, be killed, deal drugs (which was the first thing that jumped into my mind when the man in the trench coat appeared), join the mafia, you name it. I wonder how far this show and Mistress Penguin will push him.

That white tie is boss.

I’ve found my second favorite character. Perhaps it’s because she reminds me if Juri (my favorite rose duelist) or maybe it’s because Horie Yui provides her voice, but she’s got all the right things going for her.

I probably wasn’t the only one who forgot to take off their yuri goggles noticed this but Natsume and Asami presumably know each other because of past relationships with Kanba, though it seemed at one point they were closer than I previously thought. It’s still unknown as to how Natsume is connected to Kanba, though I wonder what her true motive is?

Last thing:

When are we going to meet this guy? (well I assume it's a guy, though I guess it could go either way)

About Nishimura

An anime enthusiast who finds time to blog when she has no time to spare.
This entry was posted in Anime, Episodic and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back on Track (Mawaru PenguinDrum 5)

  1. Leap250 says:

    In regards to Penguin Hat Himari, maybe she doesn’t care what happens to Himari physically, since she(penguin hat) is pretty much indestructible.

    All in all, I like the development in this episode. Kanba becomes more epic, Ringo is starting to grow on me, and the penguins are still hilarious. Can’t wait for the other characters to start showin’ their stuff.

    • Not indestructible enough, you’d think Penguin Himari wouldn’t let any ‘lowlife’ so much as ten feet near herself, though that punch to the face probably hurt her ego more than it did physically. I got to give Ringo some credit for it though, even if I’m not particularly fond of her. She’s got spunk.

Leave a Reply

