Fabulous Max (Mawaru Penguindrum 7)

Who is this Max person and why does he have more screen time than Himari?!

All joking aside, this is another Ringo centered episode, my favorite kind of episode (I’m loading on the sarcasm just in case you can’t realize it). I find myself amazed on how easily Ringo can come up with the most disturbing and completely crazy ideas. She’s even resorting to blackmailing poor Sho, not that he really has a choice in the matter, and don’t even get me started on the whole frog egg scene.

But Maternity? Really? Does she even really love Tabuki or is it just her thinking she does because she has to fulfill the role of her dead sister? And her shpeal during the preview for episode eight was a bit degrading. So, if I interpreted this correctly (and I might not have, this episode was kind of wacky), the best thing young women have to offer is their virginity?

A cooking crocodile? I guess that makes sense....

It seems my nightmare from episode three has come true. Himari has been delegated to the background princess role. You know, the one that’s usually stuck in a tower somewhere while the audience watches the heroes try to save her. I honestly hope she gets more time to grow during the second half, once were finally done with Ringo and this show can move on to better and brighter things.

At least Yuri still got some spunk.

Right when Yuri asked for everyone’s attention at the party, I had a feeling of what was going to happen next. Those delusions of Ringo’s including Yuri and that creepy old guy were a bit disturbing (fabulous Max!) but they did come strait from Ringo’s Imagination. I would not like to be stuck in there.

About Nishimura

An anime enthusiast who finds time to blog when she has no time to spare.
This entry was posted in Anime, Episodic and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fabulous Max (Mawaru Penguindrum 7)

  1. Snippett says:

    I’d say that I also enjoyed this episode. This show really knows how to make Ringo really creepy, It’s not tiring to watch her creepiness, and her next move is really something that I anticipate each episode.

    As for Yuri, I believed she is a really a great actress even IRL, it’s like she’s pushing Ringo to commit a major mistake of her life. I also think that she doesn’t really love Tabuki as much as Ringo does.

    • Nishimura says:

      I’m not sure why but I have yet to find Ringo even the least bit sympathetic. She’s quite eccentric, so even though I’m not at all fond of her, she does make the show interesting.

      As for Yuri, I love how it seemed that having Tabuki invite Ringo to the play was almost like Yuri challenging Ringo to a duel over Tabuki’s heart. The outcome should be quite interesting but most certianly a bit disturbing, if the direction of this epsiode is anything to go by.

  2. Pingback: Anti-Social Geniuses Reference Resource Mondays | Organization Anti Social Geniuses

Leave a Reply

