Anime Music Spotlight – Part 2: Violin

Well, hello there and welcome to the second week of Anime Music Spotlight. I’m a little late but it’s better than never. This week I’ll be focusing on the ever popular violin. There are quite a few outstanding performances this week, so there’s no time to waste.

Ah! My Goddess – Omoi, Tojikomete composed by Uemastu Nobuo

The Ah! My Goddess movie soundtrack is one of my favorite movie soundtracks. Not only does it put the Philharmonic Orchestra to excellent use, it does just about everything and more that a good soundtrack should do. Many of the scenes that are accompanied by the masterfully composed music are brought to a new level of awesome thanks to the wonderful sounds that Uemastu is able create.

Revolutionary Girl Utena – Sono Kanojo no Higeki composed by Mitsumune Shinkichi

Revolutionary Girl Utena’s soundtrack is heavily praised and for a good reason. With such an over the top soundtrack, RGA is able to inject emotion into an otherwise stale picture. Who needs awesome animation when we can have great music coupled with suggestive imagery? It’s a no brainer in my opinion.

Puella Magi Madoka Magica – La fille Aux Cheveux de Lin composed by Yuki Kajura

For those of you familair with classical music, one should be able to place the nagging feeling in the back of their mind that tells them they’ve heard this before. La Fille Aux Cheveux De Lin was originally composed by Debussy but in my opinion Kajura’s remix topples the first with flying colors. She doesn’t get points for originality but this track uses the violin’s capabilities to the best of it’s abilities with great results.

Spice and Wolf – Tsuyoi Kaze ga Fuite Mo composed by Yoshino Yuuji

Spice and Wolf will always be one of my favorite shows, though, at first, I couldn’t say the same for its soundtrack. However, when I took the time to familiarize myself with it I came out liking it a lot more than I had originally thought. The tracks that used either the guitar or violin in particular caught my attention. ‘Tsuyou Kaze Ga Fuite Mo’, though, is my favorite out of them all.

Simoun – Utusukishiki Miko no Namida composed by Toshihiko Sahashi

I commonly refer to the Simoun soundtrack as one of the best ever. Even though I don’t know that much technically about music, the one thing I do know is that I love every track contained within these two CD’s that span the show of Simoun. There’s just something about its style that drags me in and refuses to let go.

Wolf’s Rain – Sold Your Soul composed by Yoko Kanno

One of the first soundtracks I ever purchased was the OST for Wolf’s Rain. Odds are you’ll be able to find more than a few tracks on these CD’s that will strike your fancy. While, yes, the permeating feeling of Wolf’s Rain tends to tip the sound towards the sad side, it still retains that beautiful and timeless quality.

The World God Only Knows – track 1 composed by Matsuo Hayato

At the beginning you might be thinking, ‘doesn’t this belong in the piano spotlight?’ Well fear not, my friend! Around the one minute mark the star of the show (aka the violin) makes its grand entrance. This particular song just has the inate ability to make me smile, there’s just something so uplifting in the melody that the violins play near the end.

Otome Youkai Zakuro – Tsubaki no Kahori composed by Sugimoto Masaru

This is quite possibly my favorite one on this soundtrack. The violins here carry the melody like no body’s business. It’s a rather slow song, but the simple melody is able to convey the feelings it wishes to portray.

White Album – Menou composed by Fujima Hitoshi

First off, let me just say that I love Latin style music. Anything that even vaguely sounds like it should have two people dancing the tango will most likely find itself in my favorites list. ‘Menou’ has just the right amount of jazzy-ness and Latin flair that it makes it very hard to ignore and when you add violins into that mix, nothing can go wrong.

Edit: I’m going through the music posts and fixing the links. When I figure out what to do with the music that was taken down, I’ll add another note.

About Nishimura

An anime enthusiast who finds time to blog when she has no time to spare.
This entry was posted in Anime, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Anime Music Spotlight – Part 2: Violin

  1. Marow says:

    Wow, I really liked the one from Spice and Wolf!

    These are two tracks I love (from the same series too, hah):

    Well, it’s both piano and violin, but lovely nonetheless 🙂

    • Nishimura says:

      The Spice and Wolf soundtrack has grown on me quite a bit since I took the time to listen.

      “lost my pieces” is a great track from Toradora. I should rewatch that show sometime soon. Anyway, thanks for pointing these great tracks out.

  2. annabella says:

    this is nonsense and dorky 😛

Leave a Reply

