Anime Music Spotlight – Part 5: Saxophone

Well, here we are once again. This installment of Anime Music Spotlight features the saxophone. What I love most about this particular instrument is that sultry tone that the saxophone is so easily able to portray. However, I’ve tried my best to pick some various sounding tracks for your listening pleasure. So, kick back and enjoy the music.

Ben To – Nichijou 1 composed by Iwasaki Taku

Ben To’s Soundtrack was quite the interesting specimen to listen to. Like Tegami Bachi, its soundtrack is nothing like what you would expect it to be. Not only that but the amount of variety one can find in this soundtrack is also something to note. After all, it’s difficult enough just to create a coherent soundtrack that keeps one interested, but Ben To adds that necessary flavor to keep just about everyone listening.

Simoun – Rekishi wa Kataru composed by Sahashi Toshihiko

It’s just about near impossible to get me to stop talking about how much I adore the soundtrack to Simoun. I wouldn’t say it makes the show, though on the first watch it certainly helped heighten the tension when I had no idea what was going on, but it is part of what makes it so damn good. The mere result of all the instruments coming together in Rekishi wa Kataru is about as perfect as you can get in my opinion.

Cowboy Bebop – Goodnight Julia composed by Yoko Kanno

I have a confession to make. I never saw what was so amazing about Cowboy Bebop. People tell me all the time it’s one of they’re favorite series ever, but for some reason I was never pulled in by its charms. They showed it several times in my high school anime club and perhaps the reason why I never enjoyed it was because I never saw it through. The one thing that did click with me though was the music, and what better track to highlight then the one with the amazing saxophone solo. It just does everything right.

Baccano – Ikareta Kairaku no Tame Ni composed by Yoshimori Makoto

This is what I mean when I say sultry. I can just picture some smoke filled bar with people smoking their cigars like the classy 1920’s people that they are. Even though I despise smoking, this song makes me want to coolly pick up a cigarette between index and middle finger just so I can pretend that I’m actually there at that shady bar on the corner of Main Street. Oh yeah, I’d be stylin’ all right.

Read or Die TV – Kaki wo Sute yo Machi he Deyou composed by Iwasaki Taku

Not looking for that sultry flare? Want some snazzy upbeat fun? Look no further than Read or Die. It’s somewhat Egyptian undertone blends magnificently with the jazzy saxophones which makes this track just a blast to listen to.

Youjouhan Shinwa Taikei – Maru wo Sagashite composed by Oshima Michiru

This list wouldn’t be complete without a song by Oshima Michiru. Not only can she compose for the flute, she’s able to create this saxophone solo that just oozes style. (note: this spot was originally intended for Kuragehime’s Odore! Amars, however it is impossible to find on the internet. Want to listen to a snippet of its awesomeness? visit AnimeInstrumentality for a review of the CD)

Mawaru PenguinDrum – ??? composed by Yukari Hashimoto

Oh yeeeah, there’s nothing better than a good old secret agent sneak theme to brighten everyone’s day, just throw in some penguins and some saxophones and you’ve got yourself one kick ass track. If I ever had to infiltrate an enemy base this is exactly what I would want to hear.

Birdy The Mighty Decode – Main Theme composed by Kanno Yugo

I can’t believe I nearly forgot about the one track that inspired this post. I guess I got so caught up in the other awesome tracks I found I forgot about the one that started it all. Anyway, this track is kick ass just like the main character herself. Wondering where the saxophone is? Don’t worry, it comes in at full force around the middle and boy is it worth it.

Well that’s it for now. Hope you enjoyed this installment of Anime Music Spotlight. The next post will be the last of this series so look forward to it!

About Nishimura

An anime enthusiast who finds time to blog when she has no time to spare.
This entry was posted in Anime, Music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Anime Music Spotlight – Part 5: Saxophone

  1. “This is what I mean when I say sultry. I can just picture some smoke filled bar with people smoking their cigars like the classy 1920′s people that they are. Even though I despise smoking, this song makes me want to coolly pick up a cigarette between index and middle finger just so I can pretend that I’m actually there at that shady bar on the corner of Main Street. Oh yeah, I’d be stylin’ all right.” – ditto here 🙂

    Kaki wo Sute yo Machi he Deyou is quite playful and I like it 🙂
    the whole mawaru ost is great. perhaps the only thing that along with cinematography gets 9/10 from the series for me

    is it in simoun a sax surely? perhaps I’m wrong though…

    • Nishimura says:

      Hmm, I could be wrong on the simoun track. After listening to it again, it could be an oboe clarinet or something of the sort. My ears aren’t all that great.

      Sorry about all the broken links in this one, I’m trying to find them elsewhere but it’s not going so well. Too make up for it check out this song.

  2. ChocoNeko says:

    I’d like to know who the character at the top of the page is and where he is from, please!!

Leave a Reply

