Anime Music Spotlight – Part 6: Vocal

Well, it’s finally here, the last installment of Anime Music Spotlight. Now, it’s not typical for one to think of the voice as an instrument in the most literal sense, but it is something that creates a sound. At times the sound of one’s voice alone can tell a story better than any symphony can. So, without further ado, let’s begin part six of Anime Music Spotlight.

(Instead of siting who the song is composed by, I’ll be highlighting the singer instead, unless I have no idea who the singer is. )

Star Driver – Monochrome sung by Tomatsu Haruka

Ah, Monochrome. This song had me hooked the moment fish girl opened her mouth. Every single epsiode this song flowed through the speakers of my headphones I knew an epic (albeit predictable) battle was about to take place. It can’t get much better than this. Too bad they decided to change battle songs halfway through, though. You will be forever missed Fish Girl!

Wolf’s Rain – Flying to You sung by Ilaria Graziano

I find French to be very beautiful language. It’s kind of hard to explain but the way the words are pronounced just exudes that feeling of romance and what’s better than a French love song? If I could learn a third language (the second being Japanese) I would most definitely pick French. I’ll stick with my crude two year high school course knowledge for now, though.

Hanasaku Iroha – Bonbori Yoru composed by Suginami Jidou Gasshoudan

The moment this song surfaced in the final episode I knew it was something special. At that moment, this song was able to completely immerse me in what was going on the screen, and in spite of sounding a bit cheesy, I felt like listening to Bonbori Yoru was about as close as I could get to actually being there in Japan.

Otome Youkai Zakuro – Benibana no Otome Uta sung by Kana Hanazawa, Horie Yui, and Aki Toyosaki

 This is a rather different kind of battle song but I quite like it. It has that very distinct Japanese sound that, like Bonbori Yoru, its able to make you feel like you’re in the middle of the action.

Paprika – Parade composed by Hirasawa Susume

How should I describe this song? Well, I have three words for you. Weird but awesome.

Macross Frontier – Nyan Nyan Final Attack sung by May’n and Megumi Nakajima

Couldn’t just pick one (After all my absolute favorite isn’t included in the show or movies), so I decided on the next best thing. If anyone asked what exactly makes Macross Frontier so awesome, besides Sheryl, my answer would have to be the music of course!

Rebuild of Evangelion 1.01 – Angel of Doom composed by Sagisu Shiro

If Monochrome is the soundtrack to  the fabulous battle between two knights, then Angel of Doom is most definitely the perfect soundtrack to a gruesome fight to the death between an Evangelion Unit and an Angel. You couldn’t get a more snug fit even if you tried.

Guilty Crown – Euterpe (silence) sung by Chelly

I know, I know, out of all the great vocal tracks in the entire Guilty Crown soundtrack (which is quite the spectacle) I had to go in pick this one. Well, no complaining dammit! If I could highlight every single track I loved we’d be here all day, so, in the end, I decided my love for Chelly’s voice won out over badly pronounced but beautifully sung German.  If there’s one thing Guilty Crown did right, though, it was its soundtrack.

Mawaru Penguindrum – Grey Wednesday sung by Watanabe Yui, Miyake Marie, and Arakawa Miho

What? This is the third song featured from Mawaru Penguindrum? No, no, my friend, the first was an honorable mention so it doesn’t count. That’s right, I’m sneaky. Anyway, by now it’s no secret that I absolutely love this song. Even before the full version came out, I listened to the ending song so much that I was basically able to recite the entire thing. I was thinking about highlighting another awesome track, (Daddy’s shoes) but all the versions that were on youtube sounded a bit iffy so I decided against it. Plus it just wouldn’t be me if I did’t pick Grey Wednesday.

And so, that concludes this six part series. I hope you enjoyed what you heard and found some new songs to listen to. For me, it certainly was an experience, I’d usually find a ton of songs that would have been great to highlight after I had already finished writing the post (I really regret not listening to the Dantalian soundtrack sooner). But hey, If I ever decide to pick this up again, I have a great place to start.

About Nishimura

An anime enthusiast who finds time to blog when she has no time to spare.
This entry was posted in Anime, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Anime Music Spotlight – Part 6: Vocal

  1. oh Ilaria Graziano, how I love her voice. I still can’t forget the day I first listened to her Cowboy Bebop song on an anime radio. I was mesmerized.
    Otome Youkai Zakuro’s battle song brings back memories, but I appreciate somehow more the lyrics tied to the series than anything else.
    Angels of Dooms are simply epic and the way Macross F’s song starts is magical.

    Some of my favs








    and Honey & Clover’s singers *sigh*

    P.S.: the bad thing with you tube embeddings is that without warning videos just get ‘lost’ :/

    • Nishimura says:

      It seems like all of the songs that have vocals in a Yoko Kanno work are awesome. Steve Conte was a runner up (heaven’s not enough gets me every time) but Illaria is just amazing. And thanks for reminding how much I love Inori from Romeo x Juliet. Also, Honey and Clover insert songs rock (Tamagawa is a favorite of mine)

      I’ve never seen Kaiba but the music seems pretty unique. The a capella of the Tree Song was such a joy to listen to.

Leave a Reply

