The Many Forms of Fanservice

manga: Karate Shoukoushi Kohinata Minoru (now known as KSKM)

I’m not a big fan of sports manga. They tend to be long, the matches usually take up to much time, everything seems like it’s going at a snail’s pace, and ,well, you get my point. The only reason why I’m watching Area no Kishi at the moment is because I’m hoping sometime down the road the romance will have a more prominent role in the story. I know I’ll probably never get that considering this is a long running shounen anime, but those little moments between Nana and Kakeru keep me coming back. When I thought about it those moments would be considered fanservice to a romantic like me.

So, what in hell made me decide to read KSKM? The romance, while included, is basically non existent (we’re talking 30 chapter intervals where the romantic interest goes unseen, even though she’s the main guy’s BEST FRIEND. What kind of best friend doesn’t show up for months on end, does that even make any sense?)  and it doesn’t look like it’s going to get any more focus in the near or far future. No, the fanservice in KSKM that keeps me coming back has nothing to do with romance, as unbelievable as that is. Here, I’ll give you two options. Is it:

A. The extreme violence

or

B. The men in martial arts uniforms

If you chose option B, then congratulations, you are the winner!

That’s why, out of all the martial arts shounen manga, I chose KSKM. Actually, if this manga was a but more realistic (i.e no creepy side characters and realistic violence), I probably wouldn’t even the need the fanservice to keep me interested, but as it stands now, KSKM is slightly above average at best. Without the fanservice to keep me interested, and the small promise of romance, I probably would have given up on this manga some time ago. It’s over the top violent, some of the characters aren’t at all likable and a few arcs are a real – and I mean real – pain to read through. Thankfully though, KSKM is largely able to overcome it’s shortcomings through the entertaining Karate Tournament arcs and of course the fanservice eye candy, which is actually unintentional but greatly appreciated.

I’m all for eye candy, so I’m usually drawn towards visual forms of fanservice (wait, is there any other kind of fanservice?). This includes jaw dropping animation (why else do you think I kept up with Guilty crown for so long? The romance in that show is beyond disappointing after all) and cool yet realistic hair styles. One of my pet peeves for anime is that hair usually remains static no matter what the character  may be doing, so whenever there’s a studio that’s willing to animate hair correctly, and well at that, I get all happy inside.

(^It’s also one of the reasons why I love this ending so much. I tend to gravitate towards characters who have long hair; it’s part personal bias and partly because long hair offers better movement.)

So are there some forms of fanservice you enjoy that’s not the normal ‘women in skimpy outfits’?

About Nishimura

An anime enthusiast who finds time to blog when she has no time to spare.
This entry was posted in Anime, Art, editorials, Manga and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Many Forms of Fanservice

  1. Marow says:

    I’m usually drawn towards visual forms of fanservice (wait, is there any other kind of fanservice?).

    I see what you did there!

    I’m also drawn to visually appealing stuff (perhaps one of the reasons I love Shaft so much) and that ending of Beelzebub is gorgeous. Otherwise I’m not really sure, to be honest. Sure, I love when an anime can be confusing at first, only to completely make sense after a few episodes when you have enough pieces of information to lay the puzzle, but does that count as fanservice?

    • Nishimura says:

      Hmm, that’s is a tricky question. I guess it could be seen as fanservice. It’s fanservice but not on a visual level, like how a show with romance would be fanservice to me.

      And Shaft is simply a visual beast when they feel like going all out. I recently picked Katanagatari back up again, and while that’s done by White Fox, the art style is simply stunning despite it being so simplistic. I could stare at that show all day.

Leave a Reply

