Quick First Impressions: Tsuritama and Jormungand

Sakana, sakana, sakana!

Where do I start with this one. . . Hmm, well first off, it’s visually gorgeous. The colors are vibrant, the music is captivating, and the characters are interesting, so what could possibly go wrong? That annoying blond kid with the squirt gun, that’s what. Honestly, if I was that red head and I kept getting shot in the face with a squirt gun, that little liver licken’ blond squirt would have a fat lip the size of Texas. Yeah, yeah, I need to control my temper and blah blah, but he just rubbed me the wrong way. He’s Chizuru from Kimi to Boku but only ten times worse. I’ll give it a few more episodes, since Chizuru eventually grew on me (though I still have the urge to deck him every now and again), but that kid is seriously making me consider putting this off until further notice.

This is Koko, she is loco. . . OH NO!

I can sum up my first impressions of Jormungand with one word: entertaining. It wasn’t jaw dropping but neither was it bad. It had a great balance between humor, drama and the tension near the end of the episode was rather well played. As for the characters, Koko is simply a blast to watch.  She’s overflowing with charisma and her voice actor does an excellent job of pulling it off realistically. The other characters have yet to leave an impression, Johan came close, but that’s to be expected when Koko basically steals the show. The real question, however, is: Will I continue to watch this? As of right now the answer is most likely not right now. That doesn’t mean though that I never will. It’s just at the moment I feel like I’m watching too much stuff and Hyouka, one of my most anticipated this season, hasn’t even aired yet. Though who knows, when the second episode airs tomorrow I may end up watching it anyway.

About Nishimura

An anime enthusiast who finds time to blog when she has no time to spare.
This entry was posted in Anime, First Impressions and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

