Quick First Impressions: Sakamichi no Apollon

Who put zombies in my jazz show?

I’m going to like this one, I can tell. The music is great, the characters are interesting, and the art is gorgeous. I also love the fact that its set in the 1960’s, which I hope puts a different spin on high school life that we’re not used to seeing. It’s quite refreshing, actually.

Of course I can’t go through this whole post without mentioning the potential romance. Yes, I don’t expect it will have that much of the focus as say Eureka Seven Ao, but anything is better than nothing. The character interactions, romance implied or not, will end up making or breaking this show. After all, there’s no magical elements to take the viewers mind off of the characters, so they really need to shine here. The first episode shows that Apollon certainly does have the potential, and with the praise that the manga has received, I think it might be safe to say that it will continue to do so.

In a way this show reminds me of Chihayafuru, and considering how much I loved that show, it’s certainly a good sign. It could actually turn out quite like it, if they focus almost entirely on building up the jazz aspects of the story by focusing on the characters, much like how Karuta helped the viewer better understand the characters in Chihayafuru.

Now, a lot of people are looking forward to this one because of its rather high pedigree. I’ve said before that I’ve always had little interest in Cowboy Bebop but I do recognize that many people consider it to be one of the best shows anime has to offer. I may not agree but  that doesn’t mean I don’t see Watanabe as a great director, it’s just his main work never clicked with me. However, Sakamichi no Apollon did, and I’m incredibly excited.

With no information yet on how long this series will run, it’s hard to tell where their going to take this story, but despite that this show gets a thumbs up from me. Hopefully I’ll be able to enjoy it for the weeks to come.

About Nishimura

An anime enthusiast who finds time to blog when she has no time to spare.
This entry was posted in Anime, First Impressions and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Quick First Impressions: Sakamichi no Apollon

  1. Marow says:

    It will most likely be 11 episodes since it’s a) noitaminA b) there are two summer series confirmed for noitaminA (they only run 2 at a time). 🙂

    I loved the first and the second episode. I wonder how it will play out

    • Nishimura says:

      I wonder if the 11 episodes will be enough, the manga is still on going right? 22 probably would have been a better course of action but if these 11 episodes are all great than I can’t really complain.

Leave a Reply

