Quick First Impressions: Eureka Seven AO

Do I smell Turkey Bacon?

Here we are, probably my most anticipated show this season (tied with Hyouka for first if we’re being technical). I wouldn’t label myself as a rabid fan of Eureka Seven, but it did more good than bad in my opinion. It also contains one of my favorite couples in anime (Anemone and Dominic). So, will AO be able to rise above it’s predecessor? Well, it’s still too early to tell but I’m excited.

First off, I love the two main characters, Naru and Ao. They’ve got spunk but not too much of it where it becomes annoying and obnoxious (something which hindered Renton).  They sound and act like real friends too, and that makes them a blast to watch. I’ll certainly miss seeing Anemone kick the snot out of poor Dominic, but if the relationship between these two new young kids is anywhere near as awesome as they were, then I’ve got nothing to worry about.

On a darker note, this first episode wasn’t all roses and dandies. I felt at some points it was moving just a bit too fast. I heard many compare it to the first episode of Xam’d (an episode that will always be among my favorites) and while I can see the similarities, Eureka Seven’s pacing felt fast and uneven, like it wanted to get too much done in the time allotted. It didn’t make the episode not enjoyable or anything, it just didn’t create a nice flow between the scenes. Anyway, I’m quite sure this won’t be a reoccuring problem. Hopefully now that the ball is rolling, they’ll slow it down to a more manageable pace.

And finally, on a somewhat unrelated note:

Himari. . . 2.0?

Pretend that the sloth is a penguin in a costume and the resemblance is uncanny. Well, at least Naru didn’t have to suffer through mental trauma as a child (or did she? . . . dun dun dunnn). All she’s has to deal with is quite the nasty sickness and that rather large forehead of hers.

About Nishimura

An anime enthusiast who finds time to blog when she has no time to spare.
This entry was posted in Anime, First Impressions and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Quick First Impressions: Eureka Seven AO

  1. Marow says:

    Didn’t think of Himari, but now that you mention it, I can somewhat see it (not not as much as you) :p

    It feels like AO will be faster paced than the original. And more focus on the story than the characters. But who am I to judge, I’m only guessing by two episodes!

    • Nishimura says:

      My comparison of Himari and Naru is based primarily on the size of their foreheads (though the sickness and overall appearance does help). I was kind of expecting Naru to sparkle at least once, but I think that’s just the last remnants of Mawaru Penguindrum talking.

      A faster pace would make sense considering that it’s only 24 episodes (or is it 26?) but that also depends on how much depth they want to give this new story. I felt the second episode was done much better – pacing wise – than the first, it flowed a lot better. I’m not all that worried about it though. . . yet

      • Marow says:

        We need more characters with big foreheads!

        As for the length, I think 24 episodes has been confirmed, so it’s basically half the length of the original. I think we will see less world-building and more focus on progressing the story without much “dead time” as the original had (but that’s what made me love it!). But this is only what I think. I’m really curious on how it will go. So far, it seems a bit more political.

      • Nishimura says:

        I’m actually kind of hoping that AO will be more character centered than story centered. That’s partly because political intrigue and stuff like that tends to bore the heck out of me, but more importantly, the first Eureka Seven just knew how to do character development and was one of the few that was able to do that with all of its important characters and not just Eureka and Renton. Actually, I think its one of the only shows that accomplished this feat. Just for reference, a recent failure would be Guilty Crown, but that show couldn’t develop a character if it slapped them in the face.

      • Marow says:

        I really agree with you there, Eureka Seven had some great characters that also were developed. Just about every scene onboard Gekko was a great pleasure thanks to the crew, even if all they did was to exchange some words during toilet visit. Or when some sneaked off to snuggle while being stuck in the cave. Great characters and made the show. And as you said, one of the few who has managed this feat. 🙂

Leave a Reply

