Quick First Impressions: Hyouka

I’m blinded by the gorgeousness, despite how unsanitary this is.

Wow, this is incredibly late. . . Damn you college! Who needs you anyway. . .

So, Hyouka. Kyoani’s latest endeavor. As you well know, Hyouka (along with Eureka Seven) was my most anticipated of the spring 2012 season. Did it live up to those rather high expectations? Well, I can’t quite say at this point. Honestly, while I did feel a bit underwhelmed by the first episode (and to some extent the second) I find myself wholly intrigued. I couldn’t tell you exactly why, though I think the blinding animation may have something to do with it.

While I found it to be a bit to talky at times, the fluidity of the animation still made it interesting to watch. This is KyoAni after all, if the animation wasn’t mind numbingly awesome I’d demand a refund. Though I found it kind of funny that I wasn’t the only one who thought that the lens for the piano mystery looked like the watercolor effect out of a movie making software.

I’m not a fan of the main character yet, he’s just a bit too laid back to be interesting. I’m happy that Chitanda (whom I find to be quite the catch. Do I see romance on the horizon? Nah, I shouldn’t get my hopes up)  seems to be just the person to bring him out of that rut so to speak. After all, I’ve never heard of a teenager who does nothing just to save some ‘energy.’ It just seems kind of odd is all. I mean, he’s gotta be saving that energy for something right? So, I’m hoping for some burst of energy from him sometime in the near future. You know, preferably a confession of some sort, though I’ll take Chitanda dragging him around everywhere. She’s just a joy to watch. I find her natural curiosity for just about anything refreshing. She’d be a fun friend to have.

Well, with the cliffhanger ending to episode 2, I can safely say that despite my minor disappointment, I enjoyed it and I can’t wait to see how everything plays out.

About Nishimura

An anime enthusiast who finds time to blog when she has no time to spare.
This entry was posted in Anime, First Impressions and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quick First Impressions: Hyouka

  1. captainjacereed says:

    This is fantastic. Consider yourself having another follower. I have been seeing AMV’s from this anime and I am dying to check it out. Now, to have a second opinion will make it have a little more depth as I watch it. My friend and I are starting a podcast about anime soon and this really helps me out. Keep it up and I will be checking out more of your posts.

Leave a Reply

