Potential Show Candidate #1 – Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun

I think this sums up my feelings for this show pretty well.

Ah, the romantic comedy, my guilty pleasure, that I am none to ashamed to admit. When you hear me talk at length about my ideal anime, I say that there needs to be equal amounts romance as there is action. In all honesty though, I have to say that I am more fond of romance than I am action. Take that how ever you will, but just let me say that I am immensely looking forward to watching more of Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun.

Now, no matter how much I say I like romance there are certain cliches that I can’t stand and as of this moment this is the only gripe I have concerning Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun. I went over them briefly in my shoujo post from a bit ago, but they make me so angry that I feel the need to bring them up again. It’s the moment when the main male interest (who is more often then not a bit rebellious) uses rape as a threat. The “I may be nice to you now, but my bad switch can turn on in the blink of an eye.” I’m waiting for that one anime where the female lead has enough self respect to punch the male lead in the face if he even so much as suggest rape. Honest to goodness, I think I’d cry with happiness and laugh manically at the same time if that were to ever actually happen.

whoa, slow down you two, this is only the first episode dontcha know!!

As for the characters, I’m smitten with Shizuku. She got spunk and I like that in a female lead. Her monologues are interesting to listen to (especially with Tomatsu Haruka providing her voice. Could I have asked for anything better?). Her other half however could use a bit of work. He’s kind of a cookie cutter male lead at the moment. I’m really glad he wasn’t popular (another shoujo cliche I hate) but at the moment he’s not really doing much for me besides providing my weekly “MONJA!” I’m looking forward to see him grow (oh please let it be so) but at the moment I’m kind of hoping blond haired dude steals Shizuku away. No, bad fangirl, bad. I will not succumb to one of my most hated romance plot devices. Blondie would make a better couple with Natsume anyway. Oh drama, how I have missed thee.

And Finally…

Come at me Bro!

Just look at the close-ups in this show. Have you ever seen such gorgeous close ups? No, I don’t think you have. Brains Base, just take my money now.

About Nishimura

An anime enthusiast who finds time to blog when she has no time to spare.
This entry was posted in Anime, Art, First Impressions and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Potential Show Candidate #1 – Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun

  1. Marow says:

    Close-ups? Ahem. I like my Shaft.

Leave a Reply

