My Heart’s a Mystery

First of all, I would like to apologize for my horrendous attendance as of late. Though I am sad to say that my future coverage of Robotics;Notes will be put on hold. I really hate to say this, for it makes me feel like somewhat of a failure after I said I would blog it, but at the current time, it’s just not working.  There is a chance I’ll pick it up again at the halfway point when there’s more to talk about and I’m free from the pressure of school. Excuses basically but I have found something that has me enthralled enough to emerge from the depths of my self induced prison. Got a guess as to what has caused it? Well, would you look at that, it’s love.

j001_p037

I always find it so fascinating that I can’t control the beat of my own heart, how it flutters to life completely on its own accord. But really, if we actually did have the ability to control our own hearts, both physically and metaphorically, how much of our lives would suffer because of it? Would there be no more excitement, no more spontaneity? Would the idea of love at first sight cease to exist as a result?

Our Hero contemplates this idea during the halfway point of the second chapter when he accepts the idea that the one he loves does not love him. He says it out of grief as yet another bird flutters out of his trembling grasp. However, as the famous saying goes “If you love something, let it go,” and he does just that, coming to the conclusion that he can find that sense of fulfillment if he can make the one he loves be happy, even if it’s with someone else. So he does what every good nature love forlorn young man does, he helps the girl out. He can’t help that his heart loves her, so he simply tries to cover it up with “I’ll never be the one, there’s no point in trying.”

What he doesn’t realize is that our love interest, despite initial impressions, actually has been looking his way. “Is it okay if you don’t bring Suna this time? I want it to be… just the two of us,” she says during a phone call one night.

t022

However, he’s already resigned himself as the friend destined to help the girl achieve her dream of finding love with Mr. PG. In his self centered state of woe, he fails to see the obvious signs. He tells her of all the things Mr PG does right and all the things Mr. PG loves, when in fact he is ignoring her feelings, though silent they are. It doesn’t end well, and it may have caused her to be pushed even further away from him as a result.

t026

So, perhaps the reason why are hearts aren’t connected to our minds is because if it didn’t do things by itself, we would never listen to it. We hardly do that even now, when it’s telltale thud rings in our ears. We push it to the side, ignore it like Takeo does, thinking it’s better to ignore these feelings rather than fighting for them, especially when he thinks it’s for her benefit. But I guess having the choice is better than not having one at all.

Random Stuff

  • Man these few pages made me rage. I was all, “NO, TAKEO, NO!!! Don’t you see she likes you.” Too bad my voice can’t travel through the interwebs and into comic books. All my problems would be solved.
  • It’s been proven. Takeo is as take charge as a ladybug. My poor heart cant take much more of this. Prove me wrong next chapter, dude, I dare ya!
  • Oh, on a completely unrelated note, one of my favorite games ever, Journey, has received quite the achievement as it is the first game to ever receive a Grammy nomination for its soundtrack. Yes, it’s that epic. It’s one of the few games to get me to have a true emotional connection. It is stunning and I suggest if you have the time and the required necessities to go check it out. Here’s a sample of the Grammy nominated soundtrack.

About Nishimura

An anime enthusiast who finds time to blog when she has no time to spare.
This entry was posted in editorials, Manga and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Heart’s a Mystery

  1. Justin says:

    ;_; At least blog once a week…like every Wed :p

  2. Marow says:

    You found love? Congratulations! 😀

    I’m still surprised Journey got nominated. The music isn’t bad, but it’s not THAT special in my ears. Maybe it’s better in-game?

    • Nishimura says:

      Thanks 😀 Ore Monogatari is like a drug to me right now.

      As for Journey, I would have to say that playing the game certainly does help the experience. The music just has the knack of knowing when to kick in an when to be silent. Then again, I’m a sucker for grand emotional scores and Journey strikes my emotional core like a well trained arrow.

Leave a Reply

