11 days of anime: 11 Penguindrumers Drumming

tumblr_m9bpoeCrC31qfsc01o1_1280

Yeah, I really really wanted to make that pun. Sorry.

Hello and welcome to the 12 11 days of anime, an 11 day consecutive short post series where I talk about the moments/anime/manga of 2012 that shocked me, excited me, and moved me.  Let’s get started.

About three months ago, Ikuhara, the director of Mawaru penguindrum, tweeted this photo of an original new artwork drawn by the character designer of Mawaru Penguindrum, Lily Hoshino. While nothing was concretely stated it was speculated that this was related to the new and mysterious PenguinBear project. As of that date some three months ago, however, no new information has been released.

While the initial shock and excitement has dispersed somewhat, I am still so excited to see what Ikuhara has up his sleeve. Will it be something new or will it be something that develops our already large cast? There were quite a few untied plot strings still dangling about in the world of Mawaru Penguindrum and I for one would love to see them neatly wrapped up. Well, as neatly as possible at least.

Personally, I’m hoping (more like dreaming) that it’s a continuation that follows Himari and Ringo who are both a little bit older, a little bit more mature, and are perhaps searching for the two people who left their lives a little bit too soon. Maybe even the Princess of Crystal can come back for a little bit of fun (but geeze Himari put some cloths on, then again high school is where the good ones go bad), or even make Masako’s brother the new penguin overlord. Either way, I’m looking forward to this one.

Random Stuff

  • You should of heard my scream when this picture made it’s way into my view. One for the record books if I do say so myself.
  • Sigh, I’ve missed you so much Penguindrum!
  • And yes, I will finish this post series, no more failures.

About Nishimura

An anime enthusiast who finds time to blog when she has no time to spare.
This entry was posted in 11 Days of Anime, Anime, editorials and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 11 days of anime: 11 Penguindrumers Drumming

  1. Marow says:

    Personally, I feel that a sequel would only be a case of gaining money on a big name. I mean, the story (the little there was amongst the symbolism) is finished.

    Then again, I never really liked Penguindrum… except the start.

    • Nishimura says:

      I’m aware that it will probably end up being a remix like Adolescence of Utena (something which paled in comparison to the show in my eyes) but I’m kind of hoping for something new simply because it’s not directly labeled Penguindrum.

      I found the beginning of Penguindrum to be really lacking (minus the first episode which I loved). I found they wasted too much time on Ringo when they could addressed different aspects of the story that never got resolved in the end. Sigh, there’s no changing it now though. What didn’t you like about it?

      • Marow says:

        Well, the thing is, I agree with you. The beginning WAS dragging and considering the turn the story took about halfway, it was really wasted time.

        I also felt that way at first.

        But as the second part went on, I became more and more bored, especially since any resemblance of a story was drowned in symbolism and stuff, and longed for the first part again.

        So, eh, I disliked most of what Penguindrum became. It never really bothered with anything besides behing Ikuhara’s personal playground.

      • Nishimura says:

        Ah, I see where you’re coming from, it did take a turn for the dramatic around the half way point. But before I even saw Penguindrum I was hoping for a bit more mature tale, so the drama was like a replacement to me. I fell for it hook line and sinker.

  2. Justin says:

    I…I don’t believe your scream was that loud. It’s impossible!!!

Leave a Reply

