Movement in Maoyuu Maou Yuusha

sidestep

“I’ll Slice you,” yells the hero, brandishing his sword over his head for a killing strike.

“Then I’ll dodge,” says the demon king with a smile as she dips slightly to the right to avoid the oncoming blow,  “and say “hello” again.”

Usually it’s the simple things that catch my attention. Simple gestures, simple movements that don’t really mean anything. They’re probably no more than small things the animator puts in simply because they’ve got time and money to spare and decide that they want to spice and wolf things up a bit but I treasure every single moment like this.

What makes this particular moment in Maoyuu Maou Yuusha so awesome, is the fact that the movement and dialogue work so well together here. It’s animated fluidly, which always gets me, but the fact that instead of just standing there and saying her line, she acts it out in a simple and awesome way. It shows not only a part of her character but as an audience we feel more involved. I bet a lot more of these interactions would occur if the animation team wasn’t so focused on a certain part of Maou’s anatomy. Waste of money if you ask me.

maou

Now onto the show itself. As one of the new titles this season that I was most looking forward to there were two possible outcomes that would have transpired after watching episode one. Either I would enjoy it to the point where I would subsequently watch said episode two more times, or I would find it a disappointment and think, “It’s all your fault boobs.” So what happened? The former. While I’m still a bit put off by how big her boobs are,  I know sooner or later I’ll get use to it. She’s got character, that’s for sure, and to me that outweighs her bosom.

I can’t deny, however, that my enjoyment of this show stems from the fact that I have been going through serious Spice and Wolf withdrawals for the past year or so.  It being one of my favorite shows, this was bound to happen sooner or later but I think I’ve found the perfect remedy. After all, a demon isn’t a far cry from a god, and a hero is simply a merchant of war. Bring on the Economics!

Yuusha

Random Stuff

  • I absolutely adore those small little gestures where all the sudden something so natural and so simple is animated to the point of realism. I love animation.
  • I seriously don’t know how men find huge boobs attractive. Her gorgeousness levels would go up exponentially if she had regular sized breasts. It’s not that I have anything against large breasts, it just when they become big enough where it becomes unrealistic and distracting.
  • Will I blog this show? I’m still thinking about it so I promise nothing.
  • Also, give us more Spice and Wolf dammit!

About Nishimura

An anime enthusiast who finds time to blog when she has no time to spare.
This entry was posted in Anime, Art and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Movement in Maoyuu Maou Yuusha

  1. Justin says:

    Oh…so you’re saying you won’t be blogging Chihayafuru 2 =p

    • Nishimura says:

      Probably not. Despite how much I love that show, I don’t think I’d do a good job blogging it. I’m thinking either Maoyuu Maou Yuusha or Tamako Market, the latter of which I still have to do a first post on. School starts in a week though, so we’ll see how it goes from there.

Leave a Reply

