Ran to Haiiro no Sekai

rantohaiironosekaiI have never encountered something so familiar and yet so refreshing as the manga by Aki Irie called Ran to Haiiro no Sekai. Something about it was just so magical that my stumbling upon it could have been considered the happenings of a spell of some sorts.  It’s a whimsical tale of a girl who only wishes to be a grownup. The thing is, with the right pair of sneakers, she can do just that.

sran_to_haiiro_no_sekai_v001_064

The titular character Ran is actually a witch, though her blossoming powers as a young girl are probably a bit to much for her to handle at such a young age. Well, it’s probably more along the lines that she lacks the wisdom and discipline to make the right decisions. She’s a rash, tomboyish girl with a whole heck of a lot of spunk and it causes her a fair amount of trouble as a result. However, we wouldn’t have a story without her now would we?

While Ran is certainly the life of the party in Ran to Haiiro no Sekai (as she should be) the secondary characters are no pushovers. First off we have Ran’s family, which consists of her beastly but gentle brother, her tactful yet wishy washy father, and her all powerful sorceress of  a mother. Yes, it’s quite the lively family, and with the depths of all their personalities it’s a surprise that they all mesh well. Her parents are a simply a hoot, as their love for one another rivals the all too recent Hinako and Mamedai from Tamako Market and they’re both still alive, which is a plus.

k008

They win in my book.

The great relationships that this manga contains doesn’t end with the parents. Oh no, we also have her brother and a hand maid of Shizuka’s (Ran’s mother) named Sango, and Ran herself has the eyes of two men locked on her for better or worse. Relationships, both familial and romantic are perhaps the heart of the story, but at the same time they aren’t the focus. The conflict, while still in the early stages of development, deals with the giant door that’s steadily letting in these evil insects (like any of them are good, well, except ladybugs) that can potentially destroy humanity, but it’s still in quite the early stages at the moment and it may turn out that these insects are just the beginning

Ran's BAMF of a brother, I couldn't not show him.

Ran’s BAMF of a brother, I couldn’t not show him.

Now, I couldn’t possibly go through the post without mention the art style. If something like Oyasumi Pun Pun is something so real looking that it ends up being magical, then Ran to Haiiro no Sekai is like magical magicalism (roll with me for a second). We can see in the lively and expressive character designs and the detailed scenery every singly line Aki Irie used to bring them to life. Reading this manga almost feels as if we’re watching her draw every line right in front of us and I love that feeling.

What really impressed me though, was while reading this manga it felt as if I wasn’t specifically reading a manga but just a really good comic. Certain parts had a distinct western feel to them (though it could have been that I was listening to Ventura Highway at the time) that made this story, to me, transcend the boundaries of it’s genre into something just completely enjoyable. While it’s art can still be pin-pointed as specifically manga (it even looks old style, with the pointy faces and flamboyantness of the designs) there’s something that just screams, “I am a comic meant to be read and enjoyed.”

Random Stuff

  • I can’t really begin to explain how much of a pleasure it was to read this. Simply pure good fun is what it is.
  • Tomorrow (or today actually, looking at what time it is) I am hoping to go  to the screening of Ookami Kodomo no Ame to Yuki at MIT in Massachusetts. Not only is it free but the director Mamoru Hosoda is doing a Q&A afterwards. The thing is I’m terrified of driving in Boston alone, so the only way I’ll probably go is if I can convince my mother to go with me (My brother’s in Florida the lucky bastard). She’s not one to watch anime, she’s told me on several occasions she’s not a fan for whatever reason, but I think she’ll enjoy this movie.

About Nishimura

An anime enthusiast who finds time to blog when she has no time to spare.
This entry was posted in Art, Manga and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Ran to Haiiro no Sekai

  1. Justin says:

    Hmm, the manga looks pretty good. Guess I’ll take your word for it and add to my reading list.

    I hope you’re able to see Wolf Children. I loved it :3

    Not only is it free but the director Mamoru Hosoda is doing a Q&A afterwards

    Ahahaha, that Q&A is nothing since I had to ask him questions in 30 minutes. KUKUKU 😀 (Shameless)

    • Nishimura says:

      I loved the movie. It’s my new favorite of his works. Something about it really clicked with me.

      And how did you pull off a 30 minute one on one Q&A? My heart was beating so fast when I went up to ask a question that I thought I might throw up. Thank god that didn’t happen. Must have been quite the experience though.

      • Justin says:

        Oh…it was thanks to Funimation for setting it up. After that it came down to not embarrassing myself. I’m glad I embarrassed myself once it ended. It wouldn’t have been cool to do that while talking to Hosoda 😀

      • Nishimura says:

        That’s really something even if you did embarrass yourself. I probably would have spaced out a few times due to sheer anxiety by being near Hosoda, so I’m sure it wasn’t too bad. Was there an interpreter or are you even cooler than I thought and know Japanese? I bet Hayao Miyazaki is next on your list. You’re gonna have to bring out the big guns for that one.

  2. nyaataku says:

    I’m very impressed with the drawings!! The artwork is so nostalgic, like someone from the 80-90s drew it. Did the series just start serializing?

    🙂 This series looks very interesting. Can’t wait to check it out!

    • Nishimura says:

      I love the artwork in this manga, despite having that 80-90s feel, there’s just something about it that feels new. As for it when it was serialized, it’s got four volumes out at the moment so I don’t think it was really recent. Maybe a year ago?

      • nyaataku says:

        currently on chapter 14, and let me tell you. I WANT JIN !! Oh my goodness!! O///O I literally screamed at all those….ehem….scenes.

        I wished they licensed it in the US!! I would definitely buy the volumes!! Thank you for introducing such a great manga!! T_T oh nooo! I’m only 3 chapters away from the latest update.

      • nyaataku says:

        =.,= <<<<< nosebleed.
        Goodness….after reading chapter 16 I couldn't help but have one XD

      • Nishimura says:

        It escalates quick doesn’t it? But daaaammmmnnnn if they aren’t the hottest couple ever. And believe me, I’d be right there with you if they ever released this in US. Just take my money and make this easier on all of us (I honestly think this manga would sell pretty darn well if whoever brought it over marketed it well).

      • nyaataku says:

        Ahahaha, I know! WOW. I loved it.
        Arghhhhh, that scene is still stuck in my head. I think I reread it over 10 times already.

        I wanted to ask you about the Ran pairing. Who do you think is more suitable for her? Outarou or Hibi-kun? Trust me, I’m having trouble between the two =_= one’s just a bit over aged, and the other’s a tsundere.! I dunno!! Both are so cute!!

        The updates are so longggg T_T I wish I was able to read japanese, maybe help with the scanlations or something.

        I think so too, the art, the story is just amazing!! I hope some company does pick it up!

      • Nishimura says:

        I can’t decide between the two either. At first I really disliked Hibi, simply because he fell into the category of ‘boy who harasses girl because he likes her’ which I really dislike, but I feel his apology and actions later on at least redeem him somewhat. Outarou on other hand is cool and suave like but there’s just something a bit off about him which makes it hard for me to trust him. His and Ran’s meeting was straight out of some fantasy, which admittedly pulled me in immediately, and then it turned out to be really cute. But still, that creep factor is hard to ignore. Actually, I think I just convinced myself. I’m in Hibi’s corner for the moment. We’ll have to wait and see if I stay there though.

        (Chapter 17 was released today, just in case you haven’t checked. Funnily enough it deals with this very topic)

      • nyaataku says:

        Yes! I did read it! I was so happy to see it updated!

        Outarou, Ouatrou, Outarou….you are getting yourself in so much trouble now…
        Wonder how he is going to react once he finds out the truth. Mwahahaha, oh Outarou you little pedo 😛
        I’m surprised to say that after reading this chapter, I’m taking Outarou’s side XD He was quite responsible to offer Ran’s hand in marriage. O.o I wasn’t expecting that, after seeing how much of a playboy he was.
        I really hope he doesn’t go back to his old ways though.

        Jin is gonna kill him after finding out what he did to Sango. XD

      • nyaataku says:

        *face palm* sorry for double posting T__T
        I wanted to ask you about the bug that was in Outarou. Do you think he’s finally “cured” or is the virus still dominant in him?

      • Nishimura says:

        I think that while the bug may be gone, there’s still something there. Though, I can’t help but think that Outarou was a different to begin with.

      • nyaataku says:

        Ah yes, there is something more to Outarou than meet the eye.

        They just updated again yesterday! (Or was it early morning today…I lose track of time so easily)

        Complication, complications, complications XD
        Well, Outarou has been officially dubbed as a “pedo” by the one and only Hibi-kun XD

      • Nishimura says:

        Poor Hibi, though. Getting hit in the head with a frying pan is never be fun. But now he knows the secret!!! (three updates in three days? I must have picked up a lucky penny or something… Well, I’m off to play the lottery)

      • nyaataku says:

        And a bruise that big. Ouchhh! XD
        It was cute how he was supportive of protecting Ran’s secret though! Awww !! Crap! Now I’m leaning towards his side! O.o

        I was surprised! We have received good luck indeed this month!! *insert angel chorus*

      • Nishimura says:

        Come on, you know you wanna come over to Hibi’s side 😀

      • nyaataku says:

        Must….resist…..>.<
        And chapter 20 is out!! New character??! 😀

        I'm beginning to like Ran's sensei more and more! She just looks so cool~~~~

  3. Justin says:

    There was an interpreter. I wish I was that cool though :/

Leave a Reply

