Update: Anime Boston 2013 and remembering Sora no Woto

So-Ra-No-Wo-To - 01 - Large 37

Sound the bugle now…

It’s been quite some time hasn’t it? A month goes by rather quickly, but never fear, I’ll always come back.

To start off this what will probably be a rather lengthy update post, I want to begin by talking about one of my favorite shows of the past few years, Sora no Woto, which I have recently decided to revisit. As somewhat of an prologue, rewatching shows is one of my favorite pastimes. Sure, I guess if you tilt you head and squint it can appear to be quite the waste of time, after all, you’re spending time watching something you have already seen. However, the way I see it, if the enjoyment and wonder is still there through the second play through (and in the case of Sora no Woto, it’s my third), I can wholeheartedly defend my actions as time well spent.

When and if I decide to go back for a fourth helping, I can without doubt say that those opening seconds will always take my breath away. The combination of the beautiful music and the gorgeous scenery is simply hard to ignore. Granted, there is that one episode that leaves a minor blemish on its record, but that is not enough to deter myself the pleasure of watching this show all over again.

So-Ra-No-Wo-To - 07 - Large 21

Episode seven will forever be one of my favorite episodes ever.

Sora no Woto lulls you into a false sense of security with it’s rather cutesy character designs, and, as a matter of fact, my initial reason for picking up this show was because of its uncanny resemblance to a show I had finished not too long before it. That show was K-On. I went in expecting the entertaining shenanigans of a small platoon of army girls, but it became increasingly clear that this show not only had interesting and likable characters but that those characters also had depth and lived in a world brimming with endless possibilities.

We watch these young women have the time of their lives, but that doesn’t take away from the horrendous things that have happened thanks to the ever present threat of war, the likes of which a few of the girls have witnessed firsthand. It makes me wish that more time had been taken to explore the back story of these characters (something which I don’t normally say) because its not just one or two that outshine the rest, they all have past experiences that could potentially produce enough material for a stand alone show. There is a ton of untapped potential lurking in this show despite its awesomeness.  All of the girls are fighting for something, whether they know it or not, and that’s a beautiful thing.

images

And now onto the second part of the show…

As some of you may be aware, Anime Boston 2013 is just around the corner. Despite still having to get through exams (this week is going to be hell), the excitement I’m beginning to feel even now is quite hard to ignore. I’ve got my cosplay all figured out and while I may be playing it safe this year (no princess of crystal unfortunately), I’m still predicting quite the exciting ride.

Anyway, let’s get down to business. I mentioned last year in my Anime Boston post, that I wanted to do something with this blog concerning Anime Boston, whether that be attending panels, scouring the dealer’s room for awesome sales, catching awesome shots of cosplayers (most of which will probably be better than mine), or all of the above. I’m thinking of turning it into a five part post series spanning from the 23rd (getting the passes and a first look at the schedule) to the closing ceremonies and my sad journey back home (plus swag, everyone loves swag).

So what do you guys think? Are you up for some anime hijinks?

Random Stuff

  • My big goal for AB 2014 (yes I’m already looking ahead) is to cosplay as one of the girls from the 1121st platoon. I’m no good at making clothes and amiami is sold out of their awesome replicas, but I’ve got a year to figure it out.
  • Also, somebody’s got to take my Pokemon game away from me before it causes me to fail my final exams. Why must you be so addicting?!

About Nishimura

An anime enthusiast who finds time to blog when she has no time to spare.
This entry was posted in Anime and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

